Nemanja Radulovic standing outside in long grass, playing a violin with his long hair blowing in the wind

Philharmonia Orchestra

International Concert Series Wed 9 Apr 2025, 7:30pm The Anvil



£45, £40, £34, £25, £17. Under 25s and f/t students £12 (includes £4 booking fee)

Group bookings

Buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free

Buy 20 or more tickets in the top three price areas and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free

Schools tickets

£12 per student, one free teacher per 10 pupils (includes £4 booking fee)


Join us for a free pre-concert talk to discover more about the pieces being performed


Symphony no. 1 (Classical)
Violin Concerto no. 1
Symphony no. 1

Performers and Cast

Nemanja Radulović
Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Prokofiev's lively Classical Symphony takes Haydn's symphonies as its affectionate model, successfully updating the form to the early twentieth century.

Shostakovich's is one of the finest twentieth century violin concertos. Its four movements include a hushed and poignant nocturne, an imaginative set of variations over a repeated bass line, and an unstoppable finale. His dazzling First Symphony reflects the optimism and experimentation of the early 1920s, while showing signs of how the nineteen-year-old composer would mature.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts' Orchestra in Partnership.

Explore the music


Rouvali's imaginative, often spectacular musicality is exceptional even in an era with a number of remarkable young conductors
Los Angeles Times

Choose Dates and Book

You may also like