Vikingur Olafsson with a feather

Philharmonia Orchestra

International Concert Series Santtu conducts Mahler Symphony no. 5 Fri 23 Sep 2022, 7:45pm The Anvil

Returns Only – join the waiting list

Tickets for this event have sold out.
Email to join the waiting list providing your name, address, contact number and number of tickets required.



£42, £38, £31, £24, £16. Under 25s & f/t students £12 (includes £4 booking fee)

Group bookings

Buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free

Buy 20 or more tickets and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free


Join us for a free pre-concert talk to discover more about the pieces being performed.


Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes?
Symphony no. 5

Víkingur Ólafsson piano

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

The 2022-23 concert series opens with the exuberant Masquerade, inspired by London’s bustling 18th-century pleasure gardens.

John Adams’ piece is a piano concerto in all but name, with propulsive outer movements and a meditative central section. “Combining devilish solos with toe-tapping melodies… devastatingly catchy” (Classical Music).

Mahler’s fifth symphony opens with a grave march, followed by a stormy movement with fluctuating moods. An energetic scherzo marks a turning point, and after the tender Adagietto, the symphony ends joyfully, culminating in a triumphant chorale.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts’ Orchestra in Partnership.

Cast & Creatives

Choose Dates and Book

You may also like