A full body shot of Esther Yoo holding her violin. She is wearing a dress. The top half has a floral pattern, the long skirt is black

Philharmonia Orchestra

International Concert Series The Anvil

Returns Only – join the waiting list

Tickets for this event have sold out. Call the Box Office on 01256 844244 to join the waiting list.



£42, £38, £31, £24, £16. Under 25s £11 (includes £3 booking fee)

Group bookings

Buy 12 full price tickets and get the 13th free

Groups of 20+ booking in price band areas £42, £38 and £31, get discounted down to next price band and get one free leader

Schools tickets

F/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee), plus one free teacher for every 10 students


Holberg Suite
Violin Concerto
Symphony no. 9

Performers and Cast

Esther Yoo
Vladimir Ashkenazy

Grieg’s Holberg Suite harks back to earlier times and musical styles, in an affectionate and successful way. Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto sounds as fresh as if written in one burst of inspiration, but in fact cost the composer a great deal of time revising it after early performances and advice from his violinist friends. The quicksilver finale is unadulterated enjoyment. Dvořák’s most famous symphony, written in America while filled with longing for his Czech homeland, has an apparently inexhaustible flow of melodies, with a justly celebrated slow movement at its heart.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

Discover more about Dvořák's final symphony

Explore the music


Her dialogue with the orchestra really showcased her command of the music
Glasgow Herald on Esther Yoo
She performed Mendelssohn’s violin concerto with tight dexterity and balanced grace and a tone which was lean yet strong, deliberate yet gentle. Her cadenzas sparkled, with seriously impressive ornamentation and silkily subtle double-stopping, though it was her dialogue with the orchestra which really showcased her command of the music
Glasgow Herald on Esther Yoo

You may also like