Sir András Schiff at his piano

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

International Concert Series Thu 18 Apr 2024, 7:30pm The Anvil



£44, £38, £33, £24, £16. Under 25s and f/t students £12 (includes £4 booking fee)

Group bookings

Buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free

Buy 20 or more tickets and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free


Join us for a free pre-concert talk to discover more about the pieces being performed.


Symphony no. 1
Piano Concerto no. 1
Symphony no. 4 (Italian)

Performers and Cast

Sir András Schiff

Mendelssohn’s C minor symphony, his first scored for full orchestra after a series of works for strings, is packed with originality, astonishing for a fifteen-year-old composer.

The piano concerto shows many of his strengths, as a dramatic first movement gives way to a lyrical and tender slow section. The finale is a tour de force of elegant, fleet-fingered virtuosity.

The irresistibly exuberant Italian Symphony captures in four movements his impressions of the country. The slow movement is a pilgrim’s march, and the gently flowing scherzo is followed by an exhilarating Neapolitan dance as a finale.

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is Anvil Arts’ Orchestra in Association.

Cast & Creatives


Joy untrammelled coursed through the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment’s concert
The Observer

Choose Dates and Book

You may also like