Iván Fischer is holding a batton, conducting

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

International Concert Series The Anvil

Returns Only – join the waiting list

Tickets for this event have sold out. Call the Box Office on 01256 844244 to join the waiting list.



£42, £38, £31, £24, £16. Under 25s £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day

Group bookings

Buy 12 full price tickets and get the 13th free

Groups of 20+ booking in price band areas £42, £38 and £31, get discounted down to next price band and get one free leader

Schools tickets

F/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee), plus one free leader with every 10 students


The Forge / 6.30pm
Pre-Show Talk: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment


Symphony no. 39
Symphony no. 40
Symphony no. 41 (Jupiter)

Performers and Cast

Iván Fischer

Mozart’s last three symphonies were written in a few weeks in summer 1788, unusually without performances already arranged. They make a satisfying triptych, with the relatively serene no. 39 contrasting with the more agitated and unsettled no. 40. The final symphony sums up Mozart’s achievement in the form, with a spacious opening movement, an expressive and chromatic slow movement, and one of his most famous minuets. The finale combines fugue and sonata form in a five-part tour de force.

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Association

Read Iván Fischer's interview with BBC Music Magazine

Explore the music


One of a vanishingly small number of world-class conductors who make the music, not themselves, the centre of attention
National Review

You may also like