Yeol Eum Son is sat down. Her head is resting on her hand

Iceland Symphony Orchestra

International Concert Series The Anvil

Returns Only – join the waiting list

Tickets for this event have sold out. Call the Box Office on 01256 844244 to join the waiting list.



£42, £38, £31, £24, £16. Under 25s £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day

Group bookings

Buy 12 full price tickets and get the 13th free

Groups of 20+ booking in price band areas £42, £38 and £31, get discounted down to next price band and get one free leader

Schools tickets

F/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee), plus one free leader with every 10 students


The Forge / 6.30pm
Pre-Show Talk: Iceland Symphony Orchestra


L'Arlesienne Suites, selections
Piano concerto for the left hand
Romeo and Juliet, selection

Performers and Cast

Yeol Eum Son
Yan Pascal Tortelier

Bizet’s incidental music to L’Arlesienne was not successful at the time but has become one of his most popular works. Ravel’s concerto shows the composer responding to the constraints of using only one hand on the piano with imaginative orchestral colouring and rhythmic subtlety. After a short but striking piece from one of Iceland’s foremost composers, the concert ends with an extended selection from Prokofiev’s vividly characterised music for Romeo and Juliet.

Discover more:

Music that changed Yan Pascal Tortelier

A rough guide to classical music in Iceland

An interview with Yel Eum Son and Yan Pascal Tortelier

Explore the music


Yeol Eum Son… played with a dazzling range of dynamics, patiently giving each musical idea a semi-improvisatory spontaneity
Washington Post