Jeneba Kanneh Mason leaning on a piano

Chineke! Orchestra

International Concert Series Fri 11 Nov 2022, 7:45pm The Anvil

Returns Only – join the waiting list

Tickets for this event have sold out.
Email to join the waiting list providing your name, address, contact number and number of tickets required.



£42, £38, £31, £24, £16. Under 25s & f/t students £12 (include £4 booking fee)

Group bookings

Buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free

Buy 20 or more tickets and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free


Join us for a free pre-concert talk to discover more about the pieces being performed.


Ballade in A minor
Lyric for strings
Florence Price
Piano Concerto
Symphony no. 9 (From the New World)

Jeneba Kanneh-Mason piano
Leslie Suganandarajah

Coleridge-Taylor’s Ballade was commissioned for the Three Choirs Festival on the recommendation of Elgar, and was a great success for the composer. George Walker’s heartfelt Lyric was originally written for string quartet and later expanded to full strings.

Florence Price’s concerto is in a single movement, like those of Liszt and Mendelssohn. The final section is an exuberant juba, a dance which was a forerunner of ragtime.

Dvořák's most famous symphony, written in America while filled with longing for his Czech homeland, has an apparently inexhaustible flow of melodies, with a justly celebrated slow movement at its heart.

Choose Dates and Book

You may also like