Vadim Gluzman sitting on the floor with his violin

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

International Concert Series Thu 1 Feb 2024, 7:30pm The Anvil



£44, £38, £33, £24, £16. Under 25s and f/t students £12 (includes £4 booking fee)

Group bookings

Buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free

Buy 20 or more tickets and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free


Join us for a free pre-concert talk to discover more about the pieces being performed.


Wind serenade in C minor K388
Violin Concerto: Distant Light
Symphony no. 15

Vadim Gluzman violin
Kirill Karabits

Mozart’s many wind serenades range from genial entertainments to serious masterpieces, and this C minor work is one of his very best.

The soulful and passionate concerto by Vasks which follows was inspired by childhood memories and stars twinkling in the night sky. “This haunting work strives constantly and touchingly towards ‘distant light’” (The Times).

The concert ends with Shostakovich’s fifteenth and final symphony, a mysterious work which the composer never explained. The orchestra is used sparingly yet effectively, while quotations from Rossini, Wagner, and Shostakovich’s own long-suppressed Fourth Symphony appear. The overall tone is reflective, leading to a delicate and subtle ending.


Vadim Gluzman must be one of the two or three finest violinists currently active
Classics Today

Choose Dates and Book

You may also like