Francesca Dego by a wall

BBC Symphony Orchestra

International Concert Series Thu 31 Mar 2022, 7:45pm The Anvil

Returns Only – join the waiting list

Tickets for this event have sold out. Email the box office on to join the waiting list.



£42, £38, £31, £24, £16. Under 25s, f/t students £11 (includes £4 booking fee)
Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day

Group bookings

Buy 10 tickets and get the 11th free

Buy 20 or more tickets and all tickets are reduced to the next price level, plus the leader goes free


Overture no. 2
Violin concerto
Symphonie fantastique

Performers and Cast

Francesca Dego
Jordan de Souza

“Delivered with sensitivity and a deep understanding of the composer’s intentions”Bachtrack

There’s a welcome chance to hear music by Louise Farrenc, with her dramatic concert overture dating from the 1830s. Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto sounds as fresh as if written in one burst of inspiration. The quicksilver finale is unadulterated enjoyment. The five movements of Berlioz’ stunning Symphonie fantastique embody the visions of a lovesick musician in the grip of an overdose of opium. The idea of his beloved returns in various guises through the work, ending in a nightmarish witches’ sabbath. A profoundly imaginative score, it made the composer’s reputation all over Europe.

Cast & Creatives

Choose Dates and Book

You may also like