Philharmonia Orchestra

Sat 13 June, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £39, £35, £28, £21, £13; under 16s & full-time students £10 (includes £1 booking fee). Over 65s standby tickets available only on the day of the performance. Group discount available - contact the Box Office for further details

Sibelius Karelia Suite
Glazunov Violin Concerto
Sibelius Symphony no. 2

Esther Yoo violin
Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Sibelius’ Karelia Suite was one of his first great successes, using music written for a patriotic pageant in a region of Finland close to the Russian border. Glazunov’s passionately lyrical and undeservedly overlooked Violin Concerto dates from 1904, a period when the composer was at the height of his creative powers. Sibelius’ second symphony was written largely in Italy and inhabits a very different musical world from the northern darkness of his first. The sense of renewal and exploration continues through its four movements before building inexorably to the final thrilling brass theme.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

This concert is also available on subscription. Please contact the Box Office for more details.

Watch Ashkenazy discuss his work at the Philharmonia Orchestra

Watch - The Philharmonia in Basingstoke: The Story of a Partnership

All Events