Philharmonia Orchestra

Thu 9 April, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £39, £35, £28, £21, £13; under 16s & full-time students £10 (includes £1 booking fee). Over 65s standby tickets available only on the day of the performance. Group discount available - contact the Box Office for more info

Haydn Symphony no. 88
Beethoven Piano Concerto no. 5 (Emperor)
Nielsen Symphony no. 4 (The Inextinguishable)

Martin Helmchen piano
Paavo Järvi conductor

Haydn’s symphony is a mature and impressive work, with playful fast movements and a solemn and expressive Largo, in which trumpets and drums make a sudden appearance. Beethoven’s last piano concerto is his most brilliant and powerful. The two extrovert outer movements are balanced by an inward-looking slow movement, which moves into the finale with a simple but magical transition. The name of Nielsen’s symphony refers to “the force of life which cannot be suppressed”. Written during the dark days of the First World War, it pulsates with astonishing musical power in the outer movements, which contrast with the more pastoral and nature-inspired inner two, before building to a radiant conclusion.

See The Guardian's Symphony Guide to Nielsen's Fourth Symphony

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

This concert is also available on subscription. Please contact the box office for more details.

All Events