Philharmonia Orchestra

City of Light: Paris 1900-1950

Wed 18 February, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £39, £35, £28, £21, £13; under 16s & full-time students £10 (includes £1 booking fee). Over 65s standby tickets available only on the day of the performance. Group discount available - contact the Box Office for more info

Ravel Suite: Mother Goose
Ravel Piano Concerto for the left hand
Stravinsky The Firebird (complete)

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano
Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Ravel’s delicate and touching evocation of fairy-tales opens this concert that explores the musical landscape of Paris after World War I. Probably the most successful of a number of pieces commissioned by Paul Wittgenstein, Ravel’s concerto shows the composer responding to the constraints of using only one hand on the piano with imaginative orchestral colouring and rhythmic subtlety. Stravinsky’s first big success, The Firebird is a colourful ballet score based on a Russian folk tale in which the young hero overcomes a fierce demon with the protection of a magic feather from the fabled firebird.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

This concert is also available on subscription. Please contact the box office for more details.

Explore their new City of Light website:

All Events