Philharmonia Orchestra

Wed 14 May, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £38, £34, £27, £20; under 16s and full-time students £11 (includes £1 booking fee). Over 65s standby tickets available only on the day of the performance. Group discount available - contact the Box Office for more information.

Dvořák Cello Concerto
Suk Praga
Janáček Sinfonietta

Truls Mørk cello
Jakub Hrůša conductor

Dvořák’s Cello Concerto possesses an unceasing flow of invention and lyricism unmatched even by this composer. Suk’s orchestral portrait of Prague pictures it emerging from morning mist, with contrasting themes recalling both episodes from its history and the composer’s own life there, before ending in a blaze of glory. From its origins as a fanfare for a mass gymnastics display, Janáček’s striking Sinfonietta grew into his greatest orchestral work, a confident portrait of “the contemporary free man” that the composer hoped would thrive in his newly independent homeland.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

This concert is also available on subscription. Please contact the box office for more details.

All Events