Philharmonia Orchestra

Sun 5 Apr, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £42, £38, £31, £24, £16; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Boulanger                        D'un soir triste
Tchaikovsky                    Piano Concerto no. 1
Mussorgsky/arr. Ravel   Pictures at an Exhibition

Daniel Kharitonov piano
Pablo Heras-Casado 

Lili Boulanger’s short orchestral piece, the last she wrote, uses shifting, ambiguous harmonies and subtle orchestration to create an intriguing impression. Tchaikovsky’s piano concerto set the pattern for many future pieces with its dramatic confrontation between heroic soloist and eloquent orchestra. Mussorgsky’s suite of musical pictures includes castles, chicks and catacombs, culminating in the unforgettable grandeur of the great Gate of Kiev.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

Young Artists Recital, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events