Philharmonia Orchestra

Wed 1 February, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £40, £36, £29, £22, £14; Under 16s and f/t students £10 (includes £2 booking fee). Group discount available - Buy 12 full price tickets and get the 13th free. Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day.
Haydn          Symphony no. 101 (The Clock)
Beethoven  Triple Concerto
Nielsen        Symphony no. 6 (Sinfonia semplice)
Christian Tetzlaff  violin
Tanja Tetzlaff         cello
Lars Vogt               piano
Paavo Järvi
Haydn’s Clock symphony is one of his very finest, showing all his considerable musical powers in four movements of wonderful invention, including the famous ‘ticking’ slow movement. Beethoven’s Triple Concerto is a delightful and rewarding oddity among his works, which has deservedly become more familiar in recent years. 
Nielsen’s intention in his final symphony may have been to express something ‘completely idyllic’, but the music playfully winds itself into a series of melodic riddles and paradoxes. Its final movement is a set of variations which allows a variety of emotions to be presented in turn.

This concert is also available on subscription - please contact the box office for further details.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership.
Pre-concert Talk, The Forge 6.30pm
Christian Tetzlaff
, Tanja Tetzlaff and Lars Vogt will be in conversation with Erica Buurman. To book your free ticket please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events