Philharmonia Orchestra

Fri 29 Nov, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £42, £38, £31, £24, £16; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Grieg                Holberg Suite
Mendelssohn   Violin Concerto
Dvořák             Symphony no. 9 

Esther Yoo       violin
Vladimir Ashkenazy

Grieg’s Holberg Suite harks back to earlier times and musical styles, in an affectionate and successful way. Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto sounds as fresh as if written in one burst of inspiration, but in fact cost the composer a great deal of time revising it after early performances and advice from his violinist friends. The quicksilver finale is unadulterated enjoyment. Dvořák’s most famous symphony, written in America while filled with longing for his Czech homeland, has an apparently inexhaustible flow of melodies, with a justly celebrated slow movement at its heart.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

All Events