Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Thu 19 Apr, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £40, £36, £29, £22, £14; Under 16s and f/t students £10 (includes £2 booking fee).Group discount available. Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day.
Rachmaninov    Symphony no. 1
Tchaikovsky       Violin Concerto
Rachmaninov    Caprice bohemien

Nemanja Radulovic    violin
Kirill Karabits

Rachmaninov’s First Symphony is a strong and characteristic piece, which shows the young composer flexing his compositional muscles to telling effect. Tchaikovsky wrote his Violin Concerto while on a trip to Switzerland with a violinist friend. It begins in heroic vein and continues with a tender slow movement.

The spectacular finale takes the form of a whirling Russian dance. The concert ends with Rachmaninov’s initially brooding, then lively fantasy on gypsy themes, written after the success of his opera Aleko.

Pre-concert Talk, The Forge 6.30pm
To book your free ticket please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events