Basingstoke Symphony Orchestra

Spring Classics Concert

Sat 11 February, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £24, £19, £13; Over 65s £2 off, f/t students half price, under 16s £2 (includes £2 booking fee). Group rate available.
Mendelssohn     Overture A Midsummer Night's Dream
Mozart                 Flute Concerto G major K313
Elgar                    Serenade for Strings
Beethoven          Symphony no 8 F major
Stephen Scotchmer conductor
Sue Bint leader
Nick Cartlege flute
Mendelssohn at 17 was in the 'spring' of his career when he composed his lively and evocative Midsummer Night's Dream Overture. Brilliant local flautist Nick Cartledge plays Mozart's G major Concerto with the orchestra. Although Mozart by all accounts did not favour the flute as a solo instrument, the sublime slow movement is arguably one of the most beautiful pieces of flute music ever written.
The second half of the concert opens with Elgar's superbly crafted Serenade for Strings and ends with probably the most spring-like of all Beethoven's Symphonies, his 8th. Although begun at the same time as the 7th, it is considered by many to be more sophisticated, and in a number of ways more adventurous despite its apparent restraint.

All Events