Basingstoke Symphony Orchestra

Sat 24 June, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £24, £19, £13; Over 65s £2 off, f/t students £13, £10.50, £7.50; under 16s £2 (includes £2 booking fee). Priority booking for BSO list members: £2 off if booked by 13 May. Visit to find out more.
Borodin                       Overture: Prince Igor
Bruch                          Scottish Fantasy
Vaughan Williams     Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis
Gluck                           Dance of the Blessed Spirits
Tchaikovsky              Sleeping Beauty Suite
Stephen Scotchmer       conductor
Sara Deborah Struntz    violin
After the sudden death of Borodin, Prince Igor was completed by Rimsky-Korsakov and his pupil, Glazunov. The Overture is almost entirely Glazunov's work and contains some brilliant orchestration. Based on Scottish folk melodies, Bruch's nostalgic Scottish Fantasy was described by Bernard Shaw as ‘better than his concertos’! The Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis is considered by many to be Vaughan Williams’ finest orchestral work. Gluck’s ethereal and haunting Dance of the Blessed Spirits takes us to the warm climes of Greece and its mythology. Telling the tale of Princess Aurora, Tchaikovsky's Sleeping Beauty Suite is a perennial favourite.

All Events