Philharmonia Orchestra

Wed 23 May, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £40, £36, £29, £22, £14; Under 16s and f/t students £10 (includes £2 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available

Mendelssohn Symphony no. 4 (Italian)
Brahms Symphony no. 2

Daniele Gatti

Mendelssohn’s irresistibly exuberant Italian Symphony captures in four movements his impressions of the country. The slow movement is a pilgrim’s march, and the gently flowing scherzo is followed by an exhilarating Neapolitan dance.

Brahms’ Second Symphony was written while on holiday in the summer of 1877 and is predominantly lyrical and relaxed, before an explosion of joy in the finale.

Daniele Gatti is Music Director of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

All Events