Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Fri 1 December, 7:45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £40, £36, £29, £22, £14; Under 16s and f/t students £10 (includes £2 booking fee). Group discount available - Buy 12 full price tickets and get the 13th free. Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day.

Mozart       Piano Concerto no. 23
Bruckner   Symphony no. 8

Robert Levin     piano
Kirill Karabits

Mozart’s piano concerto was one of three he composed while working on The Marriage of Figaro. Its limpid scoring and deeply poetic slow movement, which takes the lilting form of a sicilana, give it an atmosphere unique among his many concertos.

Bruckner’s mighty Eighth Symphony is built on an impressive scale and embodies musically ideas of doubt, despair and consolation across its four movements before ending with a blaze of glory which was hailed right from its first performance as “the absolute victory of light over darkness”.

All Events