Russian State Symphony Orchestra

Tue 2 Oct, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Tchaikovsky                 Suite: Swan Lake
Prokofiev                      Violin Concerto no. 1
Rachmaninov               Symphony no. 2

Chloë Hanslip violin   
Vasily Petrenko
Tchaikovsky’s ever-popular ballet suite contains some of his most memorable music. Prokofiev’s wonderful violin concerto, written at the same time as the Classical Symphony, contains some of the most gorgeous and rhapsodic music he ever composed, with the two outer movements divided by a short, spiky scherzo. Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony is a richly scored, full-blooded masterpiece. The four movements move from darkness and doubt through a famously beautiful slow movement, to a joyous outburst of celebration in the finale.

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
Join Jonathan James in conversation.
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events