Philharmonia Orchestra

Wed 23 Jan, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Sibelius        Finlandia
Ravel            Piano Concerto in G
Sibelius        Valse triste
                     Symphony no. 1

Alice Sara Ott piano
Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Finlandia, part of a suite which Sibelius wrote for a pageant in 1900, is a concentrated burst of patriotic feeling. Ravel said that his piano concerto was “written in the same spirit as those of Mozart and Saint-Saëns” with two vivacious outer sections framing a slow movement of still and crystalline beauty. The first of Sibelius’ great cycle of symphonies is a noble and powerful piece from the late 1890s. While influenced by Tchaikovsky, it shows many signs of the composer he was to become.
The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events