Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Wed 20 Mar, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Schumann   Konzertstück for four horns
                     Symphony no. 4
Brahms        Piano Concerto no. 1

Sir András Schiff conductor/piano

Schumann’s Konzertstück was written to show off the virtuoso possibilities of the then new valve horn. Its three movements showcase the character of the instrument, with heroic drama in the first, a singing slow movement, and an exuberant finale sure to bring the house down. Schumann's symphony was begun in the flood of works prompted by his marriage, and it contains some of his most inspired music in any form. Brahms’ titanic concerto took many forms, first a sonata for piano duet, then a symphony, before becoming a concerto. Its stormy first movement is followed by a rich slow movement of quiet beauty. The finale is a defiant rondo of great energy which eventually turns to the major mode for a triumphant close.
The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Association

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events