City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Fri 10 May, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Ravel                      Le tombeau de Couperin*
Prokofiev               Piano Concerto no. 5
Brahms                  Symphony no. 2

Yuja Wang piano
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla

Ravel’s delicate and affectionate evocation of the baroque glories of French music was a reaction to the destruction he saw in the First World War. Prokofiev said that his fifth and last piano concerto ‘had enough melodies to make three concertos’. Its five movements are packed with rhythmic vitality and unpredictable beauty. The heartfelt slow movement is particularly memorable. Brahms’ radiant Second Symphony was written while on holiday in the summer of 1877 and is predominantly warm, lyrical and tender, before an explosion of joy in the finale.

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

*Please note change to previously advertised programme

All Events