Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Thu 7 Mar, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Ravel                    Suite: Mother Goose
Rachmaninov      Piano Concerto no. 1
Stravinsky           Petrushka (1911, complete)

Alexander Gavrylyuk piano
Ion Marin

Ravel’s delicate and touching evocation of fairy-tales opens this concert. Rachmaninov’s concerto is an attractive, rhapsodic work, full of youthful vigour, which shows why Tchaikovsky regarded him so highly. The composer revised and improved it in later life without sacrificing its essential freshness. Stravinsky’s imaginative recreation of an old Russian Easter Fair is the backdrop for the tale of the puppet Petrushka, who falls in love with the beautiful Ballerina, with disastrous consequences.

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events