Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Sat 1 Dec, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £41, £37, £30, £23, £15; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Stravinsky            Suite: Pulcinella
Walton                  Cello Concerto
Shostakovich      Symphony no. 1

Johannes Moser cello
Kirill Karabits
Stravinsky’s ballet, based on pieces by Pergolesi, was written for the Ballets Russes, and its wit and grace both delighted Diaghilev and brought a new element into the composer’s music. Walton’s late Cello Concerto, which the composer regarded as the best of his concertos, is full of bewitching music. After the lyrical first movement comes a brilliant scherzo. The final movement is a set of variations which passes through a number of moods before melting into a peaceful and magical conclusion. Shostakovich’s dazzling First Symphony was his graduation piece from the St. Petersburg Conservatoire. It reflects the optimism and experimentation of the early 1920s, while showing signs of how the nineteen-year-old composer would develop.

Pre-concert Talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244. 

All Events