Britten-Shostakovich Festival Orchestra

Tue 24 Sep, 7.45pm

The Anvil

  • Tickets: £42, £38, £31, £24, £16; Under 25s and f/t students £11 (includes £3 booking fee). Over 65s and Platinum Friends standby tickets available on the day. Group rate available.

Britten                           Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Vaughan Williams        The Lark Ascending
Shostakovich               Music from Suite for Variety Stage Orchestra
                                      Film Suite: Hamlet, Op. 116a

Jennifer Pike   violin
Jan Latham-Koenig

Talented young musicians from the UK and Russia come together in this orchestra inspired by the deep friendship between the two composers for whom it is named. The Four Sea Interludes, titled Dawn, Sunday Morning, Moonlight and Storm are wonderful impressions of the Suffolk coast Britten loved, while The Lark Ascending is an evocation of the English countryside. The Jazz Suites (more Kurt Weill than New Orleans) represent the lighter side of Shostakovich’s music, while his score for the magnificent 1964 film version of Hamlet, including spoken text from the play, is stunningly effective and atmospheric.

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244.

All Events